## **About the University**

Alagappa University is located Karaikudi with 440 acres of green and lush campus. This University has emerged from the galaxy of institutions initially founded by the great philanthropist and educationist Dr.R.M.Alagappa Chettiyar in the year 1985 by a Special Act of the Government of Tamil Nadu. Alagappa University is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India. The University has been accredited with A+(CGPA of 3.64) grade by NAAC. The University offers education through collaborative regular, distance and modes. The University has obtained category I status from the MHRD and occupies 2<sup>nd</sup> place out of the other 12 Universities. It has secured 28th place among Universities in the National institutional ranking framework (NIRF) in 2022. The University has reached global recognition with QS World Universities Ranking, 251-260th in Asia, 51th in South Asia, and 138<sup>th</sup> position (2023) among the world young Universities.

#### **About the Department**

Department of Physics has established as center of excellence in research. The department has strong commitment towards teaching programs at the postgraduate level and research programs at doctoral level. Several national and international meetings have been organized in different areas of Physics. Research funding agencies such as RUSA, DAE, DST, UGC, CSIR, DRDO, AICTE, BRNS, etc., have sponsored several major research projects to the department. The department has been supported by UGC-SAP (Level-I, II, III) and by DST-FIST (Level-I-Stage I and II). It has published more than 1225 research articles in internationally reputed scientific journals with Scopus citation of 16846 and h index of 60.

### **About the Congress**

The theme of the congress is taken by Physicists thus completely organized by Students Council of Department of Physics. The aim of the program is to bring PG students from University Departments across South India to deliberate on general and to promote learning and research in various important areas of Physics. So, teams of PG students are encouraged to take part in the congress.

#### **Prime Notes:**

- ✓ Teams are expected to present their ideas, views experiences and expectations on the selected topics for about 10 minutes.
- ✓ Every topic is to be discussed, deliberated and concluded under experts' supervision.
- ✓ Maximum of 3 PG students per team is anticipated for participation.

| Topics for Discussion  | Name of the Expert   |
|--|--|
| Role of Statistical Mechanics in Physics   | Prof.P.Philominathan Principal, AnnaiVailankanni Arts and Science College,Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu.   |
| Quantum Mechanics: Past, Present and Future  Implications of Classical Mechanics in Modern Science | Prof.K.Jayakumar Former Professor of Physics GandhigramRural Institute, Dindigul,Tamil Nadu  Prof.A.BasherrudinMahmud Ahmed Madurai KamarajUniversity, Madurai,Tamil Nadu                                      |
| Material Science - Present Technology & Future Prospects  Avenues in Astrophysics                  | Prof.V.Ramakrishnan, Former Director, IISER, TVM, Emeritus Professor in Physics, Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai, Tamil Nadu  Dr.E.Ebenezer Chellasamy Director, Kodaikanal Solar Observatory, Kodaikanal, |
|  | Tamil Nadu.  |

#### **Important Instructions:**

- > Registration fee-Rs 500/- per member.
- > Accommodation-On request & rent applicable.
- ➤ Mode of Payment-In advance & Online only.
- ➤ Who can apply? PG students.
- ➤ Last date for registration: March 15<sup>th</sup> 2023.
- ➤ Intimation of Confirmation: March 16<sup>th</sup> 2023.

On-site Event: Elucidation of problem solving skills and Quiz in General Physics.

Awards: Best Team Award (2Nos.)/event.

## **Organizing Committee**

**Patron** 

Prof.G.Ravi, D.Sc

Vice Chancellor, Alagappa University.

**Co-Patron** 

Prof.S.Rajamohan,

Registrar i/c, Alagappa University.

Convener

Prof.K.Sankaranarayanan

Professor and Head, Department of Physics Alagappa University

**Co-Conveners** 

Dr.M.Ramesh Prabhu Dr.R.Yuvakkumar

Assistant Professors, Department of Physics, Alagappa University.

**Advisors** 

Dr.M.Sivakumar, Associate Professor

**Dr.N.Anandhan**, Assistant Professor

Dr.R.Subadevi, Assistant Professor

Dr.S.Sudhahar, Assistant Professor

**Dr.R.Sivakumar**, Assistant Professor (DDE)

Department of Physics, Alagappa University.

## **Important Dates**

Registration starts from:

8.03.2023

Last date for Registration:

15.03.2023

Intimation of Acceptance:

16.03.2023

## **Organizing secretaries**

Mr.G.Balaji, II M.Sc.
Ms.N.Gejalakshmi, II M.Sc.
Mr.I.Praveen, II M.Sc.
Ms.T.Sharmila, II M.Sc.
Ms.C.SolaiUma, II M.Sc.

## **Link for registration:**

Ms.A.Swathi, II M.Sc.

https://forms.gle/y4yUpWp5ZQdYC5RH9

#### **Student Council Members**

I & II –M.Sc. Physics Students

Contact

G.Balaji – **8098989025** 

I.Praveen-9790198180

E-Mail: phycong2023@gmail.com





# South India Physics Students Congress on

"Lightening the initiatives taken by Physicists thus far"

At

**DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS** 

**ALAGAPPA UNIVERSITY** 

DECCAN
PHYCONG-2023

24-25th March 2023

ORGANIZED BY STUDENT COUNCIL,

Department of Physics, Alagappa University, Karaikudi

**All are Invited**